Ashtanga Yoga

The foundations of yoga philosophy were written in the Yoga Sutra of Patanjali. It provides an “eight step”  guide to control your mind and enjoy peaceful living. Those steps are known as the eight limbs of yoga or Ashtanga yoga.  Each limb is equally important and function together to reach the state of yoga. They are briefly explained bellow: 

Yamas:  Ethical standards

Niyama:  Self-disciplines and personal observances

Asanas:  Practice of yoga postures. Through Asana practice we create discipline, concentration and prepare our body for the practice of meditation

Pranayama:  Breath control.  Those are series of breathing exercise creating connection between breath and mind

Pratyahara:  Withdrawal of the senses, directing our attention inwards

Dharana:  Concentration and cultivating detachment from our senses, allowing us to direct the attention internally. 

Dhyana:   Meditation

Samadhi:  Realisation



If the body is tense, the breath is shallow, the mind is irritated, and wisdom and joy are absent.

“Yoga is the stilling of the fluctuations of the mind.” Patanjali

About me   

I was born in Sao Paulo, Brazil.  For about twenty years I worked as a dressage teacher and professional rider. This was the original reason I moved to the UK from Brazil, as I was training to qualify for the 2016 Olympic Games. In 2015, due to a back injury, I had to stop working with horses. Shortly after that, Yoga became a very important part of my life.

I have always loved teaching.  I was eager to share the practice of Yoga with others, so I decided to qualify as a Yoga teacher. I was trained in the Ashtanga vinyasa system by Manju Jois and I also completed an Ashtanga teaching techniques immersion with Joey Miles (KPJAYI authorised teacher) at Triyoga London.  Currently, I continue to study with Joey and other great teachers including David Swenson, Petri Raisanen and mainly Gregor Maehle.